IHSPA 2021 Spring Journalism Awards


Alisa Neil

Yearbook Staff: Front Row: Anna Werner, Kyleigh Marsden, Aleah Heims, Natalie Kehrli, Molly Mullis, Jamie Gunter, Macey Heim, Emma Merkes, Gavin Drees, Adrian Swenka; Back Row: Grace Reth, Jenna Philipp, Brooke Holtz, Nicholas Jones, Carlee Smith, Sawyer Falck, Zachariah Duggan, Alexa Harbach, Keara Emerson, Kennedy Klostermann, Christian Nunley, Taylor Hammer, and adviser Helen Temeyer. Not Pictured: Allie Demmer, Savana Hines, Grace Johnson, Melanie Loughren, Kylinne Meyers, Erin Mullen, Alleesa Reed, Gracie Robinson, Hayley Vaske, Paetyn Welcher.

Taylor Hammer, Staff

West Delaware Journalism students recently received recognition for 11 entries in the Iowa High School Press Association Spring Newspaper Contest in Class A. 

First place honors went to Gabby Drees for her in-depth news story “West Delaware’s Referendum for Renovations” and for her web design of the Inklings. Other first-place honors went to Grace Reth for her feature story “Covering Up COVID-19 With New Bell Covers” and Anna Werner and Kylinne Meyers for their photo story “Fighting Until The End.” 

Second place honors were awarded to Molly Mullis for her feature photo, Kennedy Klostermann for her sports photo, Aleah Heims’ editorial, “Dear Freshman Me,” and Gracie Robinson in her entertainment piece “Which Teacher Are You?”

In third place, Gabby Drees received honors for her feature photo and for her in-depth news story “West Delaware Reacts To What Happened at the Capitol.” Erin Mullen also earned third place for her photo story “Homecoming Week.” 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email